Home > Misc Security > Securely Wiping HDD

Securely Wiping HDD

I heard from many security consultants that the best way to ‘destroy’ a HDD data other than drilling a hole into the centre of the HDD is to
1.  Encrypt the entire HDD with a random key string
2. Wiping it with DoD standard

I have written this python script which automates the process.

You can find the script at http://pastebin.com/fa324359

What I have done is to put this script in ubuntu and then use remastersys to create a bootable ISO.

This way, you can burn the ISO and pop the disc to any computers to wipe out the data.

Categories: Misc Security
  1. frank
    October 25, 2009 at 8:13 am | #2

    Is the bootable ISO you created available for download anywhere?

  2. October 25, 2009 at 8:24 am | #3

    I can upload the files to mediafire.com if you like. The iso file is about 800MB because I am using remastersys in Ubuntu.

    Alternatively, if you have an alternative site where I can upload the iso file, let me know. If not, I can provide the instructions on how to use remastersys in ubuntu to create this iso file.

    Let me know. Thanks. You can reach me at keith.lee2012[at]gmail.com

  3. frank
    October 25, 2009 at 5:34 pm | #4

    Hello,

    Thank you for that Milo, I have now been thinking about it and I thought I could get a live CD that has Truecrypt and some wiping utility and do the same thing, it will be done in two stages but it is about the same result, I have found GRML live CD comes with Truecrypt and BCCrypt and I should be able to do it with it. There will be no need for you to upload the .ISO

    Thanks again for the offer.

    PS: Only the old version of GRML includes truecrypt this has now been discontinued but I can still use it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

